Paws to Heaven

image

Dog’s lifetime.

A lifetime dog.

The first statement refers to the chronological years of a dog’s existence. In general, small dogs enjoy longer lives than their larger counterparts. A recent analysis of veterinary records revealed that dogs under 20 pounds had an average lifespan of 11 years while those over 90 pounds typically lived for only 8 years. Medium and large dogs fell in the middle at around 11 years. For mixed breed dogs, owners can use an individual’s weight to help determine how long he or she would be expected to live (State of Pet Health 2013 Report, Banfield Pet Hospital).

From petmd.com/Jennifer Coates, DVM

The second relates to the expression coined by Jon Katz, author of A Good Dog. Lifetime dogs are dogs we love in especially powerful, sometimes inexplicable ways, says Katz.

I cannot personally relate to the latter. Not because I never had a dog I love. But because I never ‘actively‘ loved a dog as much as it deserved. And, by actively means performing the ideal ‘dog master’ stuffs regularly.

Heavens might cast me out for my omission. He was my first puppy love, only send him six feet below the ground. Admittedly, I was reckless. Irresponsible, actually. I forgot to take him to the clinic for his vaccine. I thought it would be okay because he already had his third shot. Had I known. Perhaps, I knew, or should have known its consequence. Dogs have needs which I put to shelf. Screw me! I lost my little spider-dog too early not because of virus infection, but because of me. My fault, I know.

My friends were already warning me before I met him. The responsibility is real. They told me that it’s like having a baby to feed and take care of. I only had a small crib for him. There he lied. There he died. Poor puppy.

Dare I say miss him? Oh! I miss him. I will never forget him. I still see him at night, in my dreams. Nightmares, actually. But nightmares tinged with love and self-reproach.

I lost him. I lost him unceremoniously, as he succumbed to death without me helping him fight. He is gone. The only thing that’s left to me is the hope that one day he will be reincarnated within my lifetime. One day, I will be his master again, and it would be totally different. Like Bailey in the film, A Dog’s Purpose, a Golden Retriever whose life is shown from his birth to his death and to his reincarnation through four different dog breeds. Each time he is reincarnated, it tells his story from life to death, except in the latest life, where he meets his original owner again.

One day, my little pup will be bigger and of a different breed. One day he will come to my life once more. One day, he will surely be my ‘lifetime dog’.

One day. Maybe never.

image

My little spider-dog during his first ‘pooch-over’.

2 thoughts on “Paws to Heaven

Comments are closed.